Empowering girls to protect the rainforest.

How can we save the last remaining piece of continuous Atlantic rainforest in Paraguay from deforestation in the long term? By educating young rural and indigenous girls! This way they become ambassadors of change in their communities, ensuring a sustainable development.

Stacks Image 411

Project Brainforest is a joint project of the leading organization in sustainable development and environmental conservation in Paraguay - the Fundación Moisés Bertoni - and the German development organization URIDU. The goal of the project is to provide indigenous girls with the knowledge, tools and skills to contribute to a positive and sustainable development in their communities.

Stacks Image 405

The Mbaracayú UNESCO Biosphere Reserve

Covering 64,000 hectares, the Mbaracayú UNESCO Biosphere Reserve represents two ecosystems that both enjoy high protection worldwide: the Atlantic Rainforest and the Cerrado Savannah. The Atlantic Rainforest is one of the most diverse and biologically richest forests in the world - but also one of the most endangered. Only about 7% of its original area persists in the present.

Project Brainforest and the Sustainable Development Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were adopted in September 2015 by the United Nations General Assembly. The SDGs outline a new and ambitious global agenda to reduce poverty and hunger, improve health, promote gender equality, protect the planet and much more. Project Brainforest integrates 12 of the 17 goals into its education and conservation concept.
  •  No Poverty

    No Poverty

  •  Zero Hunger

    Zero Hunger

  •  Good Health and Well-Being

    Good Health and Well-Being

  •  Quality Education

    Quality Education

  •  Gender Equality

    Gender Equality

  •  Clean Water and Sanitation

    Clean Water and Sanitation

  •  Affordable and Clean Energy

    Affordable and Clean Energy

  •  Decent Work and Economic Growth

    Decent Work and Economic Growth

  •  Reduced Inequalities

    Reduced Inequalities

  •  Responsible Consumption and Production

    Responsible Consumption and Production

  •  Climate Action

    Climate Action

  •  Life on Land

    Life on Land

Daughters of the forest
The rainforest school for girls
The Centro Educativo Mbaracayú (CEM) is a boarding school for young rural and indigenous girls between the ages of 15 and 18 who live primarily within the Mbaracayú Biosphere Reserve. The school was founded in 2009 as part of a strategy that integrates local communities into nature conservation. The school offers a technical degree in environmental science, which focuses on the methodology of "learning by doing". The goal of the CEM is to transform young rural and indigenous women into ambassadors of change, conservationists and women entrepreneurs who improve the quality of life of their families and in their communities.
Stacks Image 425
The indigenous communities of the region
Indigenous communities of the Mbya-Guaraní and Aché ethnic groups live in the area of the Mbaracayú Biosphere Reserve. More than 80% of the region's population live in extreme poverty; the illiteracy rate among women is enormously high. Almost 90% of girls become pregnant at the age of 14 and drop out of school. By offering these young women new perspectives, we actively contribute to a positive change in their families and in their communities, thereby ensuring the survival of the rainforest.
Stacks Image 427
URIDU - We make knowledge audible
Project Brainforest helps the students to transmit their knowledge of health, hygiene, family planning and income generating activities to their communities. Solar-powered MP3 players developed by the German development organization URIDU are used for this purpose due to the high illiteracy rates in rural areas. This technology enables the girls to create new perspectives for their their rural and indigenous communities.
Stacks Image 421

Mädchen stärken, Regenwald retten.

Wie rettet man das letzte verbleibende Stück des Atlantischen Regenwaldes in Paraguay langfristig vor der Abholzung? Durch Bildung für chancenlose indigene Mädchen! So werden sie zu Botschafterinnen des Wandels in ihren Dörfern und sorgen dort für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Stacks Image 411

Project Brainforest ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der größten Umweltschutzorganisation Paraguays - der Fundación Moisés Bertoni - und der deutschen Entwicklungsorganisation URIDU. Ziel des Projektes ist es, indigenen Mädchen das Wissen, die Hilfsmittel und die Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln, um in ihren Gemeinden eine positive und nachhaltige Entwicklung anzustoßen.

Stacks Image 405

Das Mbaracayú UNESCO Biosphärenreservat

Das Mbaracayú UNESCO Biosphärenreservat umfasst 64.000 Hektar und repräsentiert zwei Ökosysteme, die beide weltweit einen hohen Schutz genießen: den Atlantischen Regenwald und die Cerrado Savanne. Der atlantische Regenwald ist einer der vielfältigsten und biologisch reichsten Wälder der Welt - aber auch einer der am stärksten bedrohten. Nur etwa 7% seiner ursprünglichen Fläche bestehen in der Gegenwart fort.

Project Brainforest und die Sustainable Development Goals

Die Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) wurden im September 2015 von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen verabschiedet. Die SDGs skizzieren eine neue und ehrgeizige weltweite Agenda, um Armut und Hunger zu reduzieren, Gesundheit zu verbessern, Gleichberechtigung zu ermöglichen, den Planeten zu schützen und vieles mehr. Project Brainforest integriert 12 der insgesamt 17 Ziele in sein Bildungs- und Naturschutzkonzept.
  •  Keine Armut

    Keine Armut

  •  Keine Hungersnot

    Keine Hungersnot

  •  Gute Gesundheitsversorgung

    Gute Gesundheitsversorgung

  •  Hochwertige Bildung

    Hochwertige Bildung

  •  Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter

    Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter

  •  Sauberes Wasser und sanitäre Einrichtungen

    Sauberes Wasser und sanitäre Einrichtungen

  •  Erneuerbare Energie

    Erneuerbare Energie

  •  Gute Arbeitaplätze und Wirtschaftswachstum

    Gute Arbeitaplätze und Wirtschaftswachstum

  •  Reduzierte Ungleichheiten

    Reduzierte Ungleichheiten

  •  Verantwortungsvoller Konsum

    Verantwortungsvoller Konsum

  •  Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

  •  Leben an Land

    Leben an Land

Die Töchter des Waldes
Die Regenwaldschule für Mädchen
Das Centro Educativo Mbaracayú (CEM) ist ein Internat für junge indigene Mädchen im Alter von 15 bis 18 Jahren mitten im Mbaracayú Biosphärenreservat. Die Schule wurde 2009 als Teil einer Strategie gegründet, welche lokale Gemeinden in den Naturschutz integriert. Die Schule bietet ein technisches Abitur in Umweltwissenschaften an, das sich auf die Methodik des "learning by doing" konzentriert. Aufgabe des CEM ist es, junge Landfrauen zu Botschafterinnen des Wandels, zu Naturschützerinnen und zu Unternehmerinnen zu machen, die die Lebensqualität in ihren Gemeinden verbessern.
Stacks Image 425
Die indigenen Gemeinden der Region
Indigene Gemeinden der Mbya-Guaraní und Aché Ethnien leben im Einzugsgebietes des Mbaracayú Biosphärenreservats. Mehr als 80% der Bevölkerung der Region leben in extremer Armut; die Analphabetenrate unter Frauen ist enorm hoch. Fast 90% der Mädchen werden im Alter von 14 Jahren schwanger und brechen die Schule ab. Indem man diesen jungen Frauen neue Perspektiven bietet, tragen sie aktiv zu einer positiven Veränderung in ihren Gemeinden bei und sichern damit den Fortbestand des Regenwaldes.
Stacks Image 427
URIDU - Wir machen Wissen hörbar
Project Brainforest unterstützt die Schülerinnen der Regenwaldschule dabei, das erworbene Wissen zu Themen wie Gesundheit, Hygiene, Familienplanung und Einkommensquellen in ihre Gemeinden zu tragen. Aufgrund der hohen Analphabetenrate werden hierfür solarbetriebene MP3-Player der deutschen Entwicklungsorganisation URIDU genutzt. So schaffen die Mädchen neue Perspektiven für die indigene Bevölkerung.
Stacks Image 421